European Tourism Day – Brussels, 27th September 2010


European Tourism Day
Brussels, 27th September 2010
Charlemagne Building – Room GASP

Draft Program

08:30 – 09:00 Registration

09:00 – 09:20 Official Opening

  • Address speech by Vice-President Antonio Tajani and Commissioner Androulla Vassiliou

09:20 10:40 Session I
European Cultural Itineraries: a Trans-European Cultural Tourism Model?
Chair: Ms. Françoise Hetto-Gaasch, Minister for Tourism, Luxembourg

  • Mr. SandroBondi, Minister for Culture – “The Italian experience of the ‘Consulta Nazionale degli itinerari storici, culturali e religiosi'” tbc
  • Mr. Brian Simpson, Member of the European Parliament – “Cultural Tourism: the EP perspective”
  • Ms.Gabriella Battaini Dragoni, Director Council of Europe – “How to further develop the European Cultural Routes: The Council of Europe’s perspective”
  • Mr. Michel Thomas Penette, Director Cultural Routes Institute – “Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe: towards a model of quality tourism in Europe”
  • Mr. Philippe Calamel, Project Director – “The Odyssea Project”

10:40 – 11:00 Coffee break

11:00 – 12:20 European Destinations of Excellence (EDEN) Award Ceremony

12:20 – 14:00 Lunch break (at the Eden stands – Berlaymont)
Possible visit to the “Via Francigena and Cultural Routes” exhibition

14:00 – 15:30 Session II
Case studies: European citizenship and Intercultural Dialogue
Chair: Mr. Miguel Sebastián, Minister for Industry, Tourism and Trade, Spain tbc

  • Ms. Silvia Costa, Member of the European Parliament
  • Mr. Stefano Zappalà, Regional Minister Regione Lazio
  • Mr. Massimo Tedeschi, President of the European Association of “Via Francigena” – “Via Francigena meets Abram Itinerary”
  • Mr. Antoine Selosse, Director Saint Martin Route – “Saint Martin of Tours” and the
  • European citizenship
  • Ms. Inmaculada Lopez, Director of the Foundation “El legado Andalusi” – “Route al
  • Andalus” and with the Arab culture tbc
  • Roberto Varela, Regional Minister of Galicia for Tourism and Culture – “The Saint
  • James’ Route” tbc

Open Debate

15:30 – 16:00 Coffee break

16:00 – 17:40 Session III
Case studies: Tourism, Sustainability and Networking
Chair: Mr. José Vieira da Silva, Minister for Economy, Innovation and Development,
Portugal tbc

  • Mr. Antonio Cancian, Member of the European Parliament
  • Mr. Michael Cramer, MEP – “The Iron Curtain Trail”
  • Ms. Marinella Katsilieri, Scientific Director – “The Route of the Olive Tree” tbc
  • Mr. Antonio Barone, Director Phoenician Route – “The Phoenician Route”
  • Mr. Christian Corne, President of “The European Historical Thermal Town Association” (EHTTA) and Deputy Major of Vichy – “The European Thermal Route”
  • Berit Lånke, Manager Nidaros Pilgrim – “The Saint Olav Route” tbc

Open Debate

17:40 – 18: 00 Conclusions
Conclusions by Mr. Antonio Tajani, Vice-President of the European Commission, and Ms.
Isabelle Weykmans, Belgian Presidency, Minister for Culture and Tourism

Tags: No tags

Comments are closed.